Inviting people to a conversation & revoking access
Who "owns" a conversation?
A conversation is "owned" by the account in which it was created.
- When you or a team member who is logged-in and viewing your account creates a new conversation, this conversation is "owned" by your account.
- When someone submits a message via your intake pages, these create new conversations owned by your account.
Users do not own conversations. But users can access and post messages in a conversation.
Conversaiton visibility (public vs. private)
Public conversations (anyone with the link can view)
Conversations are usually public by default (but this default can be changed in your account settings). When a conversation is public, it means that anyone who gains access to it's URL can see conversation and post messages to it (message posting abilities can be managed as well).
Private conversations (invite-only)
Conversations that are set to private can only be accessed by logged-in users who've been explicitely invited to access this private conversation.
To make a conversation private, open the conversation > "Share" button > "Settings" panel > Set it to private.
Gaining access to a conversation
When a conversation is public, and a ZipMessage user views the conversation, they automatically become a participant in this conversation. A person can be a team member in your account or another ZipMessage user who is a "guest". Either way, they will now be listed as a participant in this conversation, and they will receive notifications whenever a new message is posted to this conversation.
Team members in your account do not automatically gain access to every conversation in your account—including public conversations.
To add a team member to a conversation, you can simply share that conversation's link with them, they will join by simply clicking the link and viewing the conversation once.
Or you can send a formal invitation to a team member by going to the People tab in the conversation and clicking "Invite a teammate...".
Removing team members & their access to conversations
If you need to remove a team member from your account, you can do so by going to "Team", find the user > click "Edit" > click "Remove from account...".
Here you will see a checkbox: "Also remove this user from all conversations they're currently in."
If you leave that box checked and then click "Remove", then upon removal from the account, this user will also be removed as a participant from all the conversations in your account that they were in.
This means they will no longer receive notifications about new messages in those conversations.
Note: If those conversations are set to public, then the removed user can still access them if they still have access to the public URL. For example, if the user clicks an old email notification from a conversation, this can lead them to re-gain access to that conversation even after they've been removed from your account.
To fully prevent a person from seeing those conversations, you have 2 options:
- You can change the URL on those conversations by customizing those conversation's slugs to a new URL that the person won't guess.
- You can change sensitive conversations to private. Now only users who still have access can see them.
Inviting guests or clients to a conversation via email
You can use our built-in email composer to send an email from ZipMessage or compose an email and then send it from Gmail or whichever email tool you use. See our docs on sharing conversations via email here.